Siliceous Award for Ceramic Excellence

See the Best in Contemporary Australian Ceramics

The Siliceous Award for Ceramic Excellence is one of Australia’s leading and most valuable ceramic art prizes, with a major acquisitive prize of $7,000. Ceramic Arts Queensland (CAQ) is proud to be offering the prize in 2023.

The Siliceous Award is a recognition and celebration of artistic excellence and innovation in ceramics, pottery, and ceramic sculpture, and it attracts entrants from around Australia. Siliceous is an acquisitive competition, with the winning piece becoming part of CAQ’s permanent collection, one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of Australian ceramics.

At this year’s competition, Australian Wood Firers United (AWFU) will also be presenting the inaugural Gwyn Hanssen Pigott Wood Fired Ceramics Award. This prize is to recognise excellence in wood fired ceramics and honour one of Australia’s most significant ceramic artists. This award, sponsored by the AWFU, is a $2,500 non-acquisitive prize.

“This, our seventh Siliceous, will be a very special event.  We are taking the exhibition to the City of Ipswich, a region that has an extensive clay mining and pottery-making history. We are delighted to include the new award sponsored by AWFU for a piece of wood fired ceramics, not only for its historical relevance to the district, but also to Gwyn Hanssen Pigott, whose last residence and wood kiln was in this city”, stated Dianne Peach, President, Ceramic Arts Queensland.

The 2023 Award will be judged by Dr Rebecca Coates, curator, and former Director of Shepparton Art Museum.

The winner will be announced at the Opening Night event at the Ipswich Community Gallery, D’Arcy Doyle Place, Ipswich, 6pm, Friday 13 October 2023. All work, other than the recipient of the Siliceous Award, will be for sale.

The gallery will be open from 10am-4pm daily between Saturday 14 October until Sunday 5 November. This event is free and all are welcome.


The previous winners of Siliceous are:

  • 2021 Nicolette Johnson Nine Tendrils
  • 2019 Tatsuya Tsutsui Pomegranate
  • 2018 Larissa Warren Subterranean
  • 2017 Mollie Bosworth Letting Go
  • 2016 Rowley Drysdale Oceania #7
  • 2015 Megan Puls Silt



Submit a Comment