Astrid Salomon

The Best in Contemporary Australian Ceramics

Ceramic Arts Queensland (CAQ) is delighted to announce the winners of the 2023 Siliceous Award for Ceramic Excellence and the inaugural Gwyn Hanssen Pigott Wood Fired Ceramics Award.

The 2023 Siliceous Award for Ceramic Excellence has been awarded to Astrid Salomon for the work ‘Dark Fruit’.

The inaugural Gwyn Hanssen Pigott Wood Fired Ceramics Award, sponsored by Australian Wood Firers United, has been awarded to Ray Cavill for the work ‘The Fire and The Flood II’

Highly commended awards were given to:

Ruby Yeh
Simone Fraser
Euan Craig
Jennifer Oh
Lauren Joffe
Csongvay Blackwood

These awards are a recognition and celebration of artistic excellence and innovation in ceramics, pottery, and ceramic sculpture. A high standard of entries from around Australia was received for this year’s award and we are proud to be showcasing all the finalists in our exhibition.

The CAQ Board would like to thank our volunteers; the judge, Dr Rebecca Coates, and the selection panel, Vicki Grima, Kylie Johnson, and Ross Searle, for their time and expertise; Australian Wood Firers United for sponsoring the Gwyn Hanssen Pigott Wood Fired Ceramics Award; Brett Stone and the family of Gwyn Hanssen Piggot; and the Ipswich Art Gallery for hosting us in their community art gallery.

Concurrent with the exhibition will be a community program of floor talks, workshops, guided tours, and a local arts trail. Further details are available on our website.

CAQ would like to acknowledge with gratitude the contribution made by the Regional Arts Development Fund (RADF) in delivering this community program. The RADF is a partnership between the Queensland Government and Ipswich City Council to support local arts and culture in regional Queensland.

The winner and the finalists of the award will be on display at the Ipswich Community Gallery from 14 October until 5 November. All work, other than the recipient of the Siliceous Award, will be for sale. The e-Catalogue, featuring all of the finalists, is available on CAQ’s website

Siliceous is an acquisitive award, with the winning piece becoming part of CAQ’s permanent collection.